Print Page   |   Sign In
ALA Webinar - Serving Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder Workshop
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend Events in Series
ALA Webinar - Serving Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder Workshop

$75 for 2 sessions - You will learn the library-specific challenges of working with this population, as well as best practices for both interacting with the children one-on-one and making the library environment, as a whole, more friendly. You will learn about resources and instructional strategies for serving this population.

3/22/2017
When: 2:30 PM
Where: Online
United States
Contact: Colton Ursiny
NON-SWON Event

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Not a SWON Event

More information: http://www.ala.org/onlinelearning/serving-children-autism-spectrum-disorder-workshop

Serving Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder Workshop

LiveWebinar
Wednesday, 3/15/2017
  • 2:30 PM-4:00 PM (Eastern)
  • 1:30 PM-3:00 PM (Central)
  • 12:30 PM-2:00 PM (Mountain)
  • 11:30 AM-1:00 PM (Pacific)
Wednesday, 3/22/2017
  • 2:30 PM-4:00 PM (Eastern)
  • 1:30 PM-3:00 PM (Central)
  • 12:30 PM-2:00 PM (Mountain)
  • 11:30 AM-1:00 PM (Pacific)

Serving Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder Workshop 
A 2-part workshop: Wednesdays, March 15 and 22, 2017, starting at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30 Central/12:30 Mountain/11:30am Pacific on both days.

Autism is one of the most commonly diagnosed serious developmental disability, and the number of children identified as autistic continues to grow.  In this workshop, Dr. Lesley Farmer will take you through the basics of autism, explaining the forms the condition can take and how diagnosed children tend to be unique.

You will learn the library-specific challenges of working with this population, as well as best practices for both interacting with the children one-on-one and making the library environment, as a whole, more friendly. You will learn about resources and instructional strategies for serving this population.

 

Learning Outcomes

Topics Include:

  • Identifying youth with ASD and understanding their developmental challenges
  • Making your library environment comfortable for youth with ASD
  • Strategies for successful one-on-one interaction
  • Understanding the print and digital resources available to librarians

Who Should Attend

Librarians who work with children, especially front-end youth services librarians, reference librarians, and K-12 librarians, will find this workshop highly relevant.

Host

Dr. Lesley Farmer, Professor at California State University Long Beach, coordinates the Librarianship program. Dr. Farmer has worked as a teacher-librarian in K-12 school settings as well as in public, special and academic libraries. She oversees the California State University ICT Literacy Project and chairs the IFLA School Libraries Section. She was recently awarded the IASL LinkPlus Commendation Award and is a Fulbright scholar. A frequent presenter and writer for the profession, Dr. Farmer’s research interests include information literacy, collaboration, assessment, and educational technology. Dr. Farmer’s most recent book is Library Improvement through Data Analytics (ALA, 2016).

Registration

Cost

Individual registration for this ALA Editions workshop is available for $75.00.

Group registration is available for those viewing the event in a group of 3 or more for $150.00.

How to Register

Individual registrations can be purchased at the ALA Store.

Group registrations can also be purchased at the ALA Store.

If you prefer to register by phone, call 1-866-746-7252, Monday-Friday, 8:00am-6:00pm Eastern to register; or email your purchase order to alastore@ala.org.

For pricing on bulk registrations, please contact alastore@ala.org.

Tech Requirements

This is an online event hosted through Webex. Further technical information is available at the ALA Store FAQ Page.

Contact

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions

Colton Ursiny

Administrative Assistant

cursiny@ala.org

Search
Sign In

Sign In securely

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News
Upcoming Events

2/1/2017 » 3/31/2017
#trc2017 - SWON's Teen Reading Challenge

3/22/2017 » 3/25/2017
Association of College & Research Libraries 2017

3/27/2017
Federal Depository Webinar - Confronting Misinformation: How Librarians Can Assist Patrons

3/28/2017 » 3/30/2017
Computers in Libraries 2017

3/29/2017
Technical Services Special Interest Group (TeSSIG)